K11 Owners Group Forum Index K11 Owners Group
K11 Owners Group

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

U-joint Phasing and Carbon Build up

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dixie

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 7:25 am    Post subject: U-joint Phasing and Carbon Build up Reply with quote

Hi guys,
I just wanted to ask for some confirmation on some info before I get stuck in to my spline lube.

I'm working on my K1100RS '92 ABS, greasing the splines. I've seen a lot written about properly phasing the drive shaft when putting everything back together. While I'm not a mechanic, I don't really have too much a problem with doing stuff by myself - but I'm still learning as I go along.
The thing is, every where I look they explain WHY you should phase the drive shaft, but not actually HOW. As far as I understand its just making sure that the joints are perpendicularly orientated to each other at opposite ends, is that right?

I guess that there is just so much scaremongering online about the topic, I'm just expecting there to be more to it than just that.

So is there a link or someone who can please tell me - phase it by doing X, Y, Z. Before I take it apart, and regret not asking earlier?

Also, when I took the exhaust headers off, I had a good look up the exhaust side of the engine and noticed a fair bit of carbon build-up. Valve stems look clean, but the walls of the headers leading to the exhaust have a fair amount of crud on them.
It was really tempting to try and 'clean' up, while I was there - but in the end I managed to resist.

What would you guys do? Let sleeping dogs lie, or go Mr.Clean?